Adventure!

18 01 2010

This year I am making a commitment to my writing. On December 31, 2009, I drove a moving truck into the driveway of my new home on Whidbey Island in the beautiful Puget Sound area of Washington.

Many people look at moving as a burden. I, on the other hand, am looking at this move, like the kid from The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack (ask your kids) as an Adventure!

Whidbey Island is full of  quaint, small towns. The biggest one holds the Naval base, but otherwise the Island is full of hiking trails and farms, including lavender farms.  There’s even a buffalo ranch and a I think I drobe by a llama farm the other day. I’ve lived in a small town before but nothing as isolated as living on the Island. If you want to come see me, you have to pay $14 roundtrip to ride the ferry. I live in a place where you have to get on a boat to get there. As young Flapjack would say, Adventure!

View from my office

I woke up to start 2010 in the perfect place to write. Though I have spent much of the last two weeks unpacking, I have also managed to sit down and write something every day. Maybe not the thousand words per day of my resolution, but I have stuck to the equation butt in chair + hands on keyboard = words on page.

What life-changing Adventures! are you planning for this year?

Hanna Rhys Barnes is one of those people with an evenly balanced right and left brain. She has a BA in English, but ended her career as a high school math teacher. She loves to cook and was a pastry chef in a former life.
A member of RWA’s national organization and of several local chapters, she currently lives on Whidbey Island, but occasionally visits her retirement ranchette outside of Kingman, AZ.

Hanna’s Debut Novel, Widow’s Peak, is currently available from The Wild Rose Press, Amazon.com, barnesandnoble.com and powells.com. She is currently working on Book 2 in the series, Kissed By A Rose.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment